Tuesdays Optional


Tuesday is maybe going to become my day off from television. I watched three shows tonight, but I’d only be interesting in seeing two of them ever again. If I do watch anything Tuesdays, it will be on CBS for sure.

NCIS – “Truth or Consequences”
I think I need to go find the final few episodes from last season. Because apparently I missed out on some epic goings-on. I’m not really in a position to make a detailed and informed analysis of this episode, but I will say this: I thought that was some damn good television. It was exciting, intriguing, well paced and structured, centered around the Tony/Ziva relationship, and the two pivotal moments involved a Tony movie reference and caffeine. I mean, really, what’s not to love? I said I probably won’t be dedicating myself to Tuesday television and that’s probably true. But I’m definitely watching next week, just to see where they go with this storyline.

NCIS: LA “Identity” (Pilot)
This show has a lot to live up to. And not just because it’s a spin-off of a spin-off (NCIS had its roots in JAG). It’s more to do with the fact that NCIS is just so entertaining and that’s mostly (if not almost entirely) because of the people and performances who characterize it. That said, I was quite impressed with this first episode.

Chris O’Donnell and LL Cool J do not add up to Mark Harmon, but they can lead a show. They complement each other on levels of physical presence, facial expression hilarity, and general attitude. There are obviously some flubs that will hopefully get ironed out over time. For one, LL Cool J is not a great stage fighter. That can be fixed. What may not be fixable is the fact that it took me most of the episode to realize that “G” is actually O’Donnell’s character’s first name. Or initial. Apparently he doesn’t have a first name. (Cue eyeroll.) Maybe that’s just an overly melodramatic choice by the writers. Or maybe they’re trying to help LL Cool J acclimate by letting him add “G” after every other sentence. Your choice.

As for the rest of the NCIS: LA team, I was not impressed at the beginning of the episode, but they managed to grow on me by the end of the forty-some minutes. I don’t think any of them are going to be nearly as out there or as independently hilarious as the original NCIS team, necessarily, but maybe that’s a good thing. Nate the psychologist (Peter Cambor) and Dom the newbie (Adam Jamal Craig) are my favorites so far. I’m on the fence about Hetty (Linda Hunt), who is basically Edna of The Incredibles come to life (and also actually the voice of Pocahontas‘ Grandmother Willow). But I’m not hating anyone on the team, not even the token female character, so things are shaping up.

The trick for NCIS: LA is largely to distinguish itself from NCIS, because a direct comparison is just going to work against it. Unlike the three CSIs, all of which can be broken down into more or less the same exact structure, the world of NCIS is less about the evidence and more about the characters. Or it has been. But the case for the NCIS: LA team in this first episode was phenomenal – far more intriguing and detailed than most NCIS cases tend to be. Maintaining that dedication to storyline is, I think, the best hope NCIS: LA has for survival…that and the fact that it airs right after its progenitor on a night that, so far, has no real competition from other networks (not in my world, anyway).

I’m going to need to see a few more episodes of this show before my opinion solidifies, but the prospect is looking pretty good so far.

The Forgotten
I didn’t make it thirteen minutes. Maybe it’ll redeem itself in a few episodes. Maybe it did after the first half. I don’t know. It just wasn’t sufficiently interesting or cohesive to hold my attention long enough for me to find out. I may be having a completely opposite reaction from the rest of the audience, but then again perhaps not. I don’t foresee this show doing all that well. Maybe next year, Christian Slater.

To be fair, though, ABC has already exceeded its quota for exciting new shows with FlashForward. It airs Thursday at 8pm on ABC. If you aren’t already planning on watching, I suggest you take a moment (okay, a bit more than a moment…) and watch the first eighteen minutes. As in, NOW.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lena  On September 23, 2009 at 6:13 PM

    I saw a snippet of the NCIS (think the part where Edna dresses G and he reveals the whole lack of a name thing, then the one chick realizes that the niece has been kidnapped), and it seemed fine. I didn’t stick it out, but should I go back and watch it online?

    SHE ~~IS~~ EDNA. Regardless of whether or not Brad Bird was the actual voice and creator of Edna, she is Edna. So strange.

Trackbacks

  • By R.I.P. « Melted Brain on November 12, 2009 at 7:45 PM

    [...] and, in a strange twist of fate, more episodes of The Forgotten have been ordered (remember how I only made it thirteen minutes into the pilot on this [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 457 other followers

