I Mean Well


So I saw Gamer last night with my dad. Terrible movie. TERRIBLE movie. I mean, to be fair, I wasn’t expecting much, but sadly enough I was expecting just a little bit more. And I was disappointed. EXCEPT! for one thing. There was one thing that somewhat redeemed a terribly scripted, unfinished story with battle and orgy scenes that were too much on drugs to be truly satisfying. ONE THING. This man:

Michael C. Hall is a goddamned genius.

And I really need to start watching Dexter.

Now, I was already aware that I ought to be watching this show long before I went and wasted an evening seeing a horrible movie that provided many awkward moments for father-daughter bonding time. (Sometimes we miss the mark and make bad choices about what to see.) But now that I have seen Michael C. Hall in action as a computer genius psychotic hick who does a mean Bob Fosse/Sammy Davis, Jr./Frank Sinatra, Dexter just jumped up to the top of my priority list of Shows I Need To Watch. Because I already knew he’s been nominated multiple times for the role, I knew the show comes from a fairly reliable source (Showtime), and I knew there are plenty of people who highly recommend it. But now I know first hand that Michael C. Hall doesn’t steal every scene he’s in, he OWNS them. So it is time to go order myself the first season of Dexter on DVD.

On that note, here is a list of other shows I haven’t seen yet but am intending to watch sometime in the nearish future:

  1. Dexter
  2. Six Feet Under
  3. Dr. Who
  4. Mystery Science Theatre 3000
  5. It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
  6. Star Trek Deep Space Nine
  7. Mad Men
  8. Jericho
  9. Californication

That is not a complete list, because although I have all this written down somewhere, I can’t find it at the moment and I don’t know these things right off the top of my head. This is also not a prioritized list (except for Dexter). Mad Men and Jericho are definitely higher on my list than the immense entireties of MST3K or Dr. Who. At some point in the future, I’ll try to turn my to-watch list into a shiny and well-organized list, complete with pictures and blurbs. But for now, this is mostly just a blog-sized reminder to GO WATCH DEXTER.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Tim K.  On September 21, 2009 at 12:44 AM

    Okay as a relatively recent Dexter convert I must say this show is fantastic. I started watching them last Summer and watched all three seasons in a short amount of time, and now am so completely hooked.

    I would also recommend the source material being the novels that the show is based on. They took a little different direction than the show did, but they are simply amazing reads. (sorry to go off the topic of tv.)

Leave a Reply

