“I Can’t BELIEVE they just DID THAT”


Let me start by saying, watching three season finales in a twelve-hour period is not good for blood pressure. The good news, though, is that I am now actually ready for the fall premiere season. BRING IT ON, NETWORKS!

I’m all caught up on the shows I slacked off on last spring (namely, House, CSI:NY, and Fringe), so now it is time for full excitement to set in over what’s coming soon.

THIS WEEK:

Two exciting season premieres on FOX – Bones and Fringe.

I just watched the Fringe finale (plus the four episodes leading up to it) so I am REALLY excited for this one. Not only because they left off with a jawdropper episode involving inter-dimensional travel, a rotting German psycho-scientist, and Leonard Nimoy’s return to television, but also because I was happily reminded of just how good this show is. I tried watching Lost a couple weeks ago and made it twenty episodes before giving up completely. I just don’t get the appeal. And I think that disenchantment made me forget how much I love everything else J.J. Abrams touches. The scripts are excellent, the plots are intriguing, and there’s always something delightfully disgusting. (I call the season finale a ‘jawdropper,’ but that was literal in the pilot and it was amazing.) Fringe returns Thursday at 9pm on FOX.

Airing right before that is the season premiere of Bones. Not quite as excited for this one, unfortunately. When this show is on, it’s on. Unfortunately, that’s usually in the episodes that don’t connect to any overarching season-long plotlines. This show’s strength is in the procedural (you wanna talk about delightfully disgusting…). Bones does not do major episodes well. Cases in point: Last year’s obnoxious season premiere double-header, the overdone season return double-header, and the mindtrip season finale. “Harbingers in the Fountain” is a pretty promising title, but I mostly just want it over with so we can get to the core of the season. The bare bones, as it were…let’s pretend I didn’t make that joke.. Anyway. Bones returns Thursday at 8pm on FOX.

Also coming up this week, a new episode of Glee (Wednesday at 9pm on FOX), the finale of Dark Blue (Wednesday at 10pm on TNT), the return of The Daily Show and The Colbert Report (tonight at 11 and 11:30pm on Comedy Central), and the Emmys! Pretty much everything I was excited about for the Emmys has already come and gone. Justin Timberlake and Tina Fey were both honored for guest work on SNL. Veteran actors Michael J. Fox and Ellen Burstyn were both awarded for drama guest work. Jimmy Fallon’s show won an award for interactive media (which I only mention because one of the recipients is related to one of my best friends – go Jake’s brother!). And, most excitingly, JOSS WHEDON WON AN EMMY FOR DR. HORRIBLE’S SING-A-LONG BLOG! I think I need to say that again, “once more with feeling:”*

JOSS WHEDON FINALLY WON A FUCKING EMMY.

There are so many things I could say about how INCREDIBLY EXCITED I am that this has come to pass, not to mention how INCREDIBLY DESERVING that man is of Emmy recognition. I don’t think there is a single project he has headed up that I am not deeply familiar with. And they are all so excellent, I don’t have a sufficient vocabulary to describe it. If you don’t already know what I’m talking about, go watch Firefly right now. Or Buffy. Or Angel. Or EMMY WINNING ONLINE FEATURE DR. HORRIBLE’S SING-A-LONG BLOG!

…but I digress. The Creative Arts Emmys, some of the results of which I just shared, have already taken place but they will be airing on television on Friday. The rest of the primetime Emmys air Sunday on CBS, hosted by star of Dr. Horrible’s Sing-A-Long Blog (and also some show called How I Met Your Mother…) Neil Patrick Harris. (Speaking of award shows, VMAs and Kanye West. I don’t think I have anything to say that hasn’t already been said by the entirety of the pop-culturally aware and decent human being population.)

*That’s a Buffy the Vampire Slayer joke, btw. I only point that out because I doubt anyone is going to get it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lena  On September 16, 2009 at 3:05 PM

    I am super-excited for Bones. As soon as I get back to my room tomorrow and (OH MY GOD IT IS TOMORROW!!!) scrounge it up on the internet and watch it, we shall have the most epic fan-girl fest there ever was outside of a convention.

Leave a Reply

