Yay for Teamwork


The title of this post is the only attempt I am going to make to tie together the two things I watched tonight. Because, seriously, Glee and Dark Blue? Not so much with the connectability.

“Acafellas”

(Personally, I liked Testostertones more, and Crescendudes was my absolute favorite.)

Maybe I was just being kind of a moron, but I didn’t expect that EVERYONE on this show was going to sing. Apparently I was WRONG with a capital W-R-O-N-G. I never in a million years would have expected Patrick Gallagher (Ken Tanaka) to break out into song, nevermind have such an excellent voice. But after tonight’s revelation that he and the mowhawked cougar-hunter jock are both going to be singing, as well as info reaped from this article hinting that Jane Lynch is also going to be joining in, I will be surprised at nothing from here on out. (Well, you know what I mean…) But back to the singing on tonight‘s episode. The Acafellas destroyed my soul a little bit, in a good way, but they at least helped confirm one thing: there will never be anything else on Glee as awkward as last week’s “Push It,” not even the unnecessary gyrating from the mowhawked cougar-hunter jock. Thank goodness for small favors.

More good things from this episode, Victor Garber and Stephen Tobolowsky.  They are two of my absolute favorites ever, and having them on Glee is sort of like having a dream I never knew I had come true. Now that they ARE on Glee though, there had better be a lot more of them. Because gay-creeper Stephen Tobolowsky is actually my favorite thing about this show so far, and because I would really enjoy it if Victor Garber sang. There just isn’t enough of that.

To touch on the actual content of Glee for a moment, Kurt, Mercedes, Finn, Quinn. Kurt: May I just say, DAWWWWWWW. He’s the cutest little gay boy ever. And Mercedes is growing on me now that they’ve actually written her a personality (a gratingly overearnest and soulful personality, but still). As for Finn, DAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW. He’s just so earnest, it’s incredible. Cory Monteith has endearing down pat. And Quinn? That last line? Wtf. Is that part of the storyline over with now? Has she just happily switched to the Glee Club side of life without waiting for any actual story or character development to occur? I’m so confused. Thankfully it looks like that should be somewhat sorted out next week, if the Sue-centric preview is anything to judge by. I’m also hoping there’s some more exciting music next week, because I didn’t enjoy this week’s numbers quite as much as those in previous episodes. “Mercy” and “Bust the Windows” were both good, but the former was short and the latter was previewed on Hulu, so I’d already seen it. New music please!

Final note, “Throngs of screaming teenagers don’t do it for Josh Groban.” That man is hilarious, who knew?

“Shot in the Dark”

I don’t know what it is with TNT and season finales, but they really need to step it up. This was a good episode, don’t get me wrong. But it wasn’t AMAZING, and I was kind of expecting that. Oh well.

What worked was the way the truth was concealed until the very end of the episode but nobody made a huge roaring deal out of it. Without calling attention to the fact that no-one knows anything, it’s easy to be lulled into the impression that Carter might actually have done the unspeakable. The script for this episode was pretty exceptional – doubletalk, careful balancing of conceal and reveal, touching on multiple storylines without forcing it or detracting from the main plot. But when you get right down to it, I honestly thought the whole thing was a little dull. There was intrigue, there was mystery, but at no point did I get a rush of adrenaline. Even the Surprise! gunshots at the very beginning weren’t a shock, because I already knew they were going to happen. The upside to a somewhat less than riveting storyline? I actually noticed the instrumental soundtrack for the first time. It’s surprisingly good.

The real strengths of this season finale were an excellent guest performance by Sasha Alexander, formerly of NCIS, who plays a wonderful scary Fed-type (and who is much more attractive as a redhead), and the sans-Carter team dynamic. Putting Jaimie, Ty, and Dean in a room and forcing them to think and act without the final word of Carter being barked in their ear was actually the most effective thing I’ve seen so far on this show to really provide insight into their personalities – especially Dean, since he hasn’t been the central focus of an episode yet and we actually don’t know a damn thing about him other than a few tidbits from Ty or Carter here and there.

I don’t know if Dark Blue is going to be back for more episodes or not yet, but I’m hoping so. The finale was a bit of a let down, but it is an intriguing and well-structured show, and I’d be disappointed if it was already over.

Coming Up Tomorrow: BONES AND FRINGE! (And Project Runway, with a challenge I could probably win.) I’m pretty excited.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

