Laaaaaaaaaaate…


It’s really awesome how I even procrastinate on the things I want to do and like to do. Seriously, SO awesome. Oh yeah.

…yeah. Anyway.

It’s hard to tell, but I did actually watch most of the things I planned to this week. The only shows I still have to catch up on are FlashForward and Dollhouse, and I’m going to go watch them as soon as I finish up this post.

It was a pretty good week, overall. Most everything was solid and enjoyable, and what wasn’t (House) inspired what is possibly my favorite review so far – because, tell me, what is more fun than being able to articulately and extensively rail on one of the most-watched shows on television in an effort to will it to self-improve?

I don’t feel bad enough about how I’ve slacked off to do all the thinking and writing involved in fully reviewing everything I watched this week. But I do feel bad enough about it to wrap this quick little note up with some short reflections on this week’s procedurals:

NCIS
Thank goodness Tony is funny again. This show was starting to get soooo angsty. Hopefully now that a lot of the major touching moments are over, NCIS can get back to its bantery, case-focused goodness for awhile. I may be a diehard Tony/Ziva-shipper, but if I have to wait another week for Abby to have more than five lines, I may throw a bitchfit.

NCIS: Los Angeles
I’m really, really liking this show, actually. I think it will find individual success the same way the CSI spin-offs did. Because while it does obviously have some similarities to NCIS classic, the group’s different function and different team dynamic is actually pretty fresh. Plus, the cases are much more intriguing and convoluted than the average NCIS murder-of-the-week. And the transition photo-bits are reallyreally cool.

Lie to Me
This show premiered this week. And it went pretty well. Guest star Erika Christensen‘s turn at multi-personality disorder was excellent. The opener of Lie to Me (voice-overed by Tim Roth) introduced the show as an examination of not only how people lie, but why. The first sesason was a bit technical most of the time with almost too much time spent zeroed in on facial twitches. So I think taking the show in a more psychological direction, looking at the nature of truth and lies and the reasons behind them, will give Lie to Me a fascination factor deeper than “Oh, haha, Bill Clinton and John Edwards made similar expressions when found out.”

CSI: NY
I think that was the most twisted, terrifying murder ever on this show. And that is saying something. Most crime shows I watch and think, “Gosh that’s gruesome” or “Oh dear, what a terrible way to die” or “Wow that’s really gross (but also so cool!).” But the idea that technology exists that could enable someone to turn a guy’s car against him and lead directly to his murder genuinely scares the crap out of me.

Bones
Regular (as in, not in anyway related to over-arching plot lines) episodes of Bones are probably high on my list of favorite things to watch, although this particular one isn’t likely to remain one of my enduring favorites. There wasn’t anything wrong with this episode, necessarily. Elaboration on Cam’s new life as legal guardian was well-done, and also hilarious. The case itself was a perfect example of the show’s ability to balance hilarity and tragedy. But there was a distinct lack of grossness, and Clark is my least favorite of the interns, so overall “The Plain in the Prodigy” was punctuated by great piano music but forgettable.

Fringe
I think I actually had enough thoughts about this one two write a full-length review. But I’m feeling lazy, so I’ll just touch on the most notable part: THERE WERE PEOPLE-BOMBS. THEY CRYSTALIZED AND THEN EXPLODED AND IT WAS AWESOME.

And that’s all she wrote. Until she finished watching Dollhouse and FlashForward and made a valiant effort to squeeze some actual thoughts out of her very tired brain. The end.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lena  On October 3, 2009 at 11:10 PM

    I think I’m ready for them just to declare Wendell the official new intern and be done with it. Morose Guy has his moments, but Wendell is the only one they’ve really bothered to give a back story or any emotional investment to, so I think he will prevail…? But one season of rotating interns is really quite enough. Agreement?

Leave a Reply

