What IS it with eyeballs this week?


As you all are aware, I am a huge fan of the gross. Blood, guts, goo, muck, dismembered body parts, oozing skeletons – it’s all wonderfully good times. There’s only one thing I don’t enjoy particularly well, though. And that is eyeballs. Eyes. Are. Disgusting. And for some reason, three separate shows decided that this week was the right time to throw in some cornea-related nastiness. Monday, Marissa popped some eyeballs back in their sockets. Thursday, the Bones team investigated the murder of a woman stabbed through the eye AND Fringe went hunting for the cause of monster-visions and rapidly moving gray eyeballs. Ew, ew, and ew.

Now down to business.

I’ve decided that it’s time for me to expand the horizons of this blog. Reviewing, while still enjoyable, is starting to feel more like an obligation than like fun, so I’m going to start adding some other elements to keep things interesting for myself.

On the agenda:

  1. Lists of my favorite characters/actors/shows/etc.
  2. A feature called “Hindsight” about now ended (or cancelled) shows that I absolutely love and think everyone should see.
  3. Full-season reviews of shows I’m behind on and am catching up with via DVD or interweb.
  4. More news! Because I’ve realized I’m a lot more in tune with what’s going on in the world than I thought.
  5. On everything, a more concerted effort to provide credit/reference for where I get my info.
  6. Whatever the hell else comes to mind.

I’m pretty excited for new stuff, not gonna lie. It may mean fewer episode reviews per week…but maybe that’s a good thing. Only writing the reviews I want to is probably a better course of action over all, because I’ll work harder on those and not run around in circles trying to come up with enough to say about episodes I don’t have enough of a reaction to to warrant the twenty minutes to an hour it takes to crank something out.

I’ve got a few specific upcoming posts in mind, so keep a look out over the next week or so:

  • I’m finally gonna do my Battlestar Galactica post. The separation anxiety has worn off just enough.
  • In honor of Garret Dillahunt‘s upcoming Lie to Me appearance, a feature about my favorite guest actors.
  • A Hindsight post about Life.
  • A reflection on the first two episodes of Three Rivers.

…now that I think about it, the items on this list are likely to appear in reverse order. Ah well.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Billy  On October 16, 2009 at 5:39 PM

    “A feature called “Hindsight” about now ended (or cancelled) shows that I absolutely love and think everyone should see. ”

    I love this Idea. Go for it!

    Secondly, if the blog is beginning to become overwhelming, perhaps you should recruit a few co-writers to contribute reviews and take away some of the workload.

    just an idea ~shrug~

Leave a Reply

