I Admit Defeat (aka, Laziest Glee Review Evar)


For days now I have been struggling with my thoughts about and reactions to last week’s installment of Glee and attempting to beat them into sentence-shaped submission. I could keep on struggling and eventually emerge with a mediocre but properly paragraphed review of “Wheels.” Or I could just accept my limitations, do just enough to appease my Jewguilt, and move on with my life.

I’m sure you’ll be just shocked to realize I’ve chosen the latter.

So, without further ado, here are my thoughts/reactions concerning “Wheels,” summed up in a series of (unorganized) bullet points that have largely been transcribed exactly from my crackbrained notes.

  • Whoa, wait, is it Kevin McHale doing the ‘Here’s what you missed’ intro voiceovers?
  • Holy crap, Brittany actually spoke lines.
  • WHY is Jacob still around please PLEASE just get rid of him, he is so gross.
  • Stephen Tobolowsky! My prayers for continued Sandy Ryerson have been answered!
  • Quinn is getting all bitchy (and I can only assume hormone-y).
  • On that note, Finn stood up to her (albeit briefly). Holy hell this show actually DOES progress.
  • Puck + Quinn + Home Ec Room = CUTEST SCENE EVER. HOLY CRAP. (Also, they have amazing chemistry, which I totally wasn’t prepared for.)
  • I LOVE KURT’S DAD SOOOOO MUCH ALL THE TIME. And also Kurt with his dad. (“I’m really not ready to have that conversation.”)
  • Oh boy, more pot jokes.
  • Hardass/angry Mr. Schu = so much win.
  • “Dancing With Myself” is not getting old at all. But it’s better w/out the credits. (And I am pretty much in love with Kevin McHale.)
  • Oh yay. Bitchdiva Rachel is back. My favorite.
  • SUE SYLVESTER WINS AT LIFE IN EVERY SINGLE WAY POSSIBLE. AND BY THAT I MEAN, SO DOES JANE LYNCH. AAAH!
  • Chris Colfer singing “Defying Gravity” may have changed my life. Even if it didn’t, I am still going to worship him. (Oh, yeah, and Lea Michele was good too, but seeing as her resemblance to Idina Menzel has already been noticed, her Broadway-ified version was actually sorta creepyk.)
  • Artie and Tina. I almost ODed on cute. And then things got SO WEIRD. (At least Tina is a person and not Stutter-Goth-turned-Wheelchair-Boy’s-Girlfriend?)
  • Artie, Mercedes, and Tina leading on a song. Did hell freeze over? Or is Glee actually making significant changes?
  • Seems like a new chapter of the show has opened up. Hopefully the introduced changes in focus will stick around. However,
  • it looks like next week is going to be horribly Rachel-centric. So maybe it’s best if I don’t get my hopes up….

That about wraps it up.

As you can see, I did actually have thoughts. The getting-them-into-real-expressive-words part was just difficult.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lena  On November 17, 2009 at 2:05 PM

    I am SO NERVOUS for the horrid awkwardfest that will be this week’s episode. Teacher crushes are ALWAYS awkward.

    Did you notice that Emma was completely non-existent in this episode? Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

