Glee: “Mattress”


This week’s Glee review comes to you without notes, without specific analysis, and without any intention beyond expressing exactly how amazing this show really is.

There is a real reason that Glee has become a phenomenon.

Mattress was not the most spectacular, awe-inspiring episode of the season. But it included the inevitable other-shoe-drops* moment when Will discovered Teri has been faking her pregnancy. And that was, I believe, the first truly sobering moment of the entire show. It wasn’t punctuated by “Oh snap, drama!” or hard-hitting confrontation of issues. We knew it was coming, and I think it fulfilled everyone’s expectations. Matthew Morrison and Jessalyn Gilsig were truly amazing. I had chills and tears and everything I could possibly ask for.

It’s gonna be tough when the show is off the air after next week. There is a quality to this series that just isn’t equaled elsewhere on network television right now. And more importantly, there is poignancy and originality. If anyone anticipated the final plot twist, I take my hat off to you. I never ever would have seen it coming. Heading to a mid-season finale without the leading man at the forefront (especially for the reasons he’s out?). I’ve said it before: Glee has serious balls.

“Smile” was good, “Jump” was fun. But the voices-only closing number captured a special place in my heart and mind. There was something incredibly special about this episode. I don’t know how to say it better than that.

*Or, “other-Schue-drops.” I swear to god the pun was accidental.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • forensicfanatic  On December 3, 2009 at 6:44 PM

    The scene between Will and his wife was amazing. You could see in his eyes how heartbroken he was and how hard he was trying to hold himself back. Simply amazing.

  • Sarah  On December 5, 2009 at 3:59 AM

    My review on SideReel (http://www.sidereel.com/_post/178141) is nowhere near as touching as yours, but you expressed my sentiments EXACTLY. Matthew Morrison has cemented his place in my heart (Jessalyn Gilsig got hers back on “Boston Public”).

  • Lena  On December 10, 2009 at 11:54 AM

    Question on Glee: What do you think will happen in two to three years when they all go to college?

  • vane says  On December 15, 2009 at 11:50 AM

    i loved that episode its awsome and espiering all your episodes are awsome

  • Casey  On February 7, 2010 at 1:39 PM

    I loved this episode! It was soo funny and heartbreaking and amazing all at once. Mathew Morrison was DEFINITELY the best actor in this episode. He is so amazing and I hope to see more of him in the future =]

  • Kati  On February 8, 2010 at 12:08 AM

    Being in the UK, we’re way behind the phenomenon that is Glee. I finally impatiently gave up on waiting week after week (UK shows ep 6 tomorrow 8/2/10) to find out what happened to my new favourite guys & girls on tv, & downloaded & watched all 13 in a 24 hour Glee marathon last night.

    MY GOD.

    Each episode struck a chord deep inside (no pun intended), but Matthew Morrison blew my mind during Mattress. The inevitable realisation that Terri was faking the baby was played with such poigancy & humility, I felt chills watching Scary Schue (along with a serious thrill at how dangerously sexy he was – could slam me against a wall any day!) but ultimately such heartbreak for him, I was in tears before he was.

    As for the cover of ‘Smile though your heart is breaking’ at the end, I defy you all not to get a lump in their throat watching Will watching the Glee club have their photos done… but then realise you’re smiling too.

    Ok enough fawing over the Schuemeister. Is it April 13th yet???

  • nuria vasquez lillo  On February 12, 2010 at 10:18 PM

    son geniale espero ver pronto la segunda tenporada

  • ImBeingHeldHostage  On March 23, 2010 at 12:12 AM

    Also in the UK and Shue is my new pin up boy after Mattress. Wow!

Leave a Reply

