2010 Midseason Premieres – January


There are some EXCITING THINGS coming in January 2010.

Chuck

Two-hour Season 3 Premiere, Sunday January 10th at 8pm on NBC
Time-slot premiere, Monday January 11th at 8pm on NBC


This is probably the premiere I am most excited for. If you want a sneak peek at what’s coming up this season, check out this interview with Zachary Levy and series creators Chris Fedak, and Josh Schwartz. If you just want to catch up and get excited, episodes from Season 2 are available at nbc.com or on Hulu.

Southland

Network premiere, Tuesday January 12th at 10pm on TNT

If you’re like me and you missed out on this show during its brief run on NBC, I definitely you check it out when it moves to TNT. It may not have done well on a major network, but I hear it’s actually a pretty good cop drama.

Leverage

Midseason return, Wednesday January 13th at 10pm on TNT

The midseason finale was something of a disappointment, and I’m feeling some trepidation about the addition of Jeri Ryan to the cast (not because I don’t love her, but because I’m worried she’s being set up to replace Gina Bellman). But goddamn if I’m not ready for some new episodes.

Project Runway

Season 7 Premiere, Thursday January 14th at 10pm on Lifetime

With any luck, Season 7 will be significatly less completely retarded than most of Season 6 was.

Human Target

Pilot, Sunday January 17th at 8pm on FOX
Time-slot premiere, Wednesday January 20th at 9pm on FOX

I don’t know about this one. The premise seems interesting, but limited. I have no real idea how it’s going to get stretched out into a full show. But, the cast is fairly impressive, and it will have a ratings lead-in from American Idol.

24

Two-night (two hours each) Season 8 premiere, January 17th and 18th on FOX at 9pm and 8pm respectively.
Time-slot premiere, Monday January 25th at 9pm.

If there is anything I am as excited for as Chuck, it is Season 8 of 24. And most of the reason for that is the cast – Katee Sackhoff, Freddie Prinze Jr., Mykelti Williamson, Anil Kapoor, and David Anders are among the additions. Besides, Jack Bauer in New York can only be epic.

Caprica

Series Pilot, Friday January 22nd at 9pm on SyFy

The pilot for this series, which is a prequel to Battlestar Galactica, is already on Hulu. Watch it. Get excited.

Other Return Dates:

Monday January 11th:
10pm – Castle on ABC

Wednesday January 27th:
10pm – Psych on USA

Thursday January 28th:
9pm – Burn Notice on USA
10pm – White Collar on USA

This list does not, of course, encompass all the new/returning shows for January 2010. Just the ones that I care about. If you’re interested in seeing what else is coming up, I recommend SideReel’s Midseason Calendar. As for the new/returning shows for February, March, and April, look for another post from me in upcoming weeks. My original plan was to put it all into one mega post, but this ended up more than mega enough for my tastes with only the first month of next year.

CHANGES:
White Collar’s return date has been moved up to January 19th.
Burn Notice’s return date has been moved up to January 21st.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lena  On December 22, 2009 at 10:14 PM

    Thought on Leverage: I was hoping she would just be a two-to-three episode character arc, but according to imdb she has filmed 7 episodes…. I hope she doesn’t replace Sophie. I suppose we will end up loving her as time goes on, but I like the group the way it was! I didn’t start getting annoyed with Sophie until they started her whole mind-games, who am I? sequence partway through this last season.

    Thoughts on Human Target: Since the first time I saw a preview for this several months ago, my primary thought has been: “This looks like James Bond as a TV show.”

Leave a Reply

