Lost: 4 Years in 3 Weeks


I’ve caught up on Lost.

As in, I’ve watched the entire series (from S1E20 on) since the Season 6 premiere. On the one hand, that is really depressing – just think of how many hours a day I’ve spent on Hulu. On the other hand, it is awesome! because now I can watch the rest of The Final Season as it airs.

For all the hemming and hawing I did to get myself to watch it, the final relenting was totally worth it. Lost is fun. It’s not a perfect show, and there are times when it makes me want to bang my head on a table, but the overall result is one I deeply enjoy.

My Five Favorite Things About Lost (So Far)

5. There’s Always More
There are not many shows that manage to run for 5 seasons and never recycle their plotlines. Lost is not one of them. Every season the story gets bigger. Sometimes things happen again, but that’s part of the point and there’s always something new going on. It may be many things, but it is certainly not boring.

4. Attention to Detail
One place where shows tend to fall apart is in consistency. They drop plotlines or forget to check the characters’ hair cuts or move things around during flashbacks. Lost has a tendency to recreate scenes from different angles and points of view and, as far as I can tell, they do so without glaring errors and allow the viewer to pay more attention to the new than what’s wrong with the old.

3. Pure, Unadulterated What-the-Fuck-ery
Lost has literally redefined weird. Everytime it seems like they’ve gone totally out the stratosphere, they come back a few episodes later with something even more astoundingly just-short-of-ridiculous. And it is AWESOME.

2. Benjamin Linus
Sylar has been replaced. My new favorite, slightly gray-shaded villain is Ben. He is so much fun and so crafty and so despicable-but-near-sympathetic. I am pretty much in love with Michael Emerson.

1. PEOPLE ACTUALLY DIE
Probably the number on thing that bothers me about shows of this general nature (I’m looking at you, Heroes) is that the main characters never, ever get killed off. Even when there’s no conceivable way of saving them, miracle cures and bullet proof vests and clones and whatever the hell else jump in out of nowhere and save them (read: keep the actor working). But not Lost. Admittedly, the fact that so many people get shot but no-one has died from it is a tad suspicious. And dead people do keep returning somehow or other. But at least they do actually die.


My Five Least Favorite Things About Lost (So Far)

5. The Score
I have all sorts of respect for Michael Giacchino, don’t get me wrong. His music is certainly effective in terms of setting a mood. But there is a point where emphasis becomes over-emphasis. We do not need a rousing cacophonous fadeout EVERY TIME that someone looks dramatically just to the side of the camera because they’ve had A Stunning Realization.

4. The Beginning of Season 2
It took so long for Season 2 to get going. They replayed that same scene inside the hatch FIVE FREAKING TIMES. I do appreciate Lost‘s retell-from-different-perspectives technique, but enough is enough. There is no need to take up an eighth of the season on five minutes of events.

3. The Attempt at Religiosity
Sometimes religious themes can work in sci-fi (see: Battlestar Galactica) and sometimes not. Lost is trying really really hard to incorporate the whole Judeo-Christian heaven-hell crisis-of-faith/fate thing, but it’s a real stretch. It worked when it was focused down on Mr. Eko, and by extension Charlie, but by the time we got to Locke’s father trying to convince people they were in hell it was going too far. If this man-in-black/smoke creature man does turn out to be Satan I will be sorely disappointed.

2. Kate
I’m sorry, but I just don’t get the appeal. Evangeline Lilly is cute, but not that cute, and the character is interesting, but not that interesting. So many other characters could have been better developed in the extra time spent filling out Kate’s melodramatic backstory. She is not that intriguing, and why she became the focus of this epic love triangle/rectangle I will never fully understand.

1. Season One
Particularly in contrast with everything that followed, Season One is kind of a tragedy. It has pretty much none of the elements that have made the show as incredibly enjoyable as it is (enjoyable for me, anyway). The lack of interest I had during Season One was actually a contributing factor in how long it took me to actually get into the series. I watched 20 episodes and then stopped because I was just so disengaged. Thankfully I finally got past it, but man oh man…

I don’t know how the hell ALL of the open-ended questions and plotlines are going to get wrapped up by the end of Season 6. Just getting it all done will be a miraculous feat – nevermind getting it all done in a way that makes any sort of sense (not that that’s necessarily a priority for Lost).

I will be watching every step of the way from here to the end to find out.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

