The LONG AND DIFFICULT Journey to Regionals


Glee, I am SO PROUD OF YOU.

I’ll readily admit I was worried. Like, really worried. I mean let’s take a moment to look back on your midseason finale. That was a qualified disaster. Not exactly a promising precedent for major episodes. And the episodes leading up to the season finale were excellent (except for “Funk” which I think we should all pretend never happened), just like those leading up to “Sectionals” so I was really starting to worry that a pattern might exist and you were doomed to repeat it.

But no!

Instead, you actually delivered (…pun intended). There were a whole lot of things to love about “Journey to Regionals.” Most of these were also things to pause and frown slightly at, but things to love nonetheless.

Most (read: pretty much all) of this episode was pure cheese. I mean really, were that many “I love yous” strictly necessary (and did they all have to be said by the guys?)? Cheese. Gathering the entire Glee club together to cry about how much they love each other and Glee not once, not twice, but three times? Cheese. Quinn’s mom showing up out of nowhere? Quinn’s water breaking exactly that moment? Inter-cutting (there must be a real word for that…) Quinn giving birth with Vocal Adrenaline’s “Bohemian Rhapsody? Shelby being the one to adopt Beth, more or less at Rachel’s suggestion? CHEESE CHEESE CHEESE CHEESE CHEESE.

There are two things that I didn’t find at all cheesy, which might surprise you.

1) Everything to do with Emma. “Journey to Regionals” did a great job of bringing her back from missing for the last several episodes, and an even better job of setting up for next season: Matthew Morrison and John Stamos (the dentist) fighting for Emma’s affection! I’m pretty excited. Best of all, Emma did her awesome-human-being-counselor-thing and not only gave Will good advice, which he is apparently incapable of generating on his own, but actually went and SHOUTED AT FIGGINS. It was EPIC.

2) Sue voted for New Directions. I don’t know how they did it, but the writers found the one way in which this couldĀ  have worked without seeming totally ridiculous. Over the season, Sue’s emotional, more fragile side has been shown just enough to make this turn of events work. Take that context and combine it with Josh Groban, Olivia Newton-John, and Rod Remington (Bill A. Jones) being total asshole caricatures and somehow we get a solution that works. I’m a little fuzzy as to how New Directions got third when they seemed to have Josh Groban’s vote originally, but hey. Whatever works. And Sue keeping the Glee club around works to. I actually buy her being moved by the club’s “To Sir With Love.” So, so many kudos for that, Glee. It shouldn’t have worked that well, but it did.

Speaking of “To Sir With Love,” I’d call the musical elements of this episode a mixed bag. That particular number was just a little too far to the cheesy side of things for me to find it quite as genuinely moving as I might have (especially since I couldn’t understand half the lyrics). The episode also loses points for making Finn and Rachel the stars again. (Yes, yes, I know they’re supposed to be, but that doesn’t make it any more acceptable to shaft the other vocal powerhouses.) That said, Mark Salling and Matthew Morrison’s “Over the Rainbow” duet was gorgeous and delightful, “Bohemian Rhapsody” did exactly what it needed to – a) look overdone and b) show off how fabulous Jonathan Groff is – , and the Journey medley was, as advertised, JUST PLAIN AWESOME.

“Journey to Regionals” was not perfect, and it wasn’t quite amazing. It left some things to be desired. Ironically, considering the cast interviews about filming it, I felt the episode sort of lacked the depth of emotionality that Glee is capable of reaching. Also there were too many Sue cracks about Will’s hair. But it had a red piano, Dijon Talton got to speak for the first time, and things have been lined up nicely for next season.

Which is, sadly, a long way far off.

Until then, though, I intend to listen to the music over and over and over and rewatch my favorite episodes and basically just take the time to get all revved up for new things. I suggest you do the same.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • forensicfanatic  On June 15, 2010 at 11:28 AM

    While Glee ended on a high note (pun sort of intended), I am disappointed that the Kurt/Finn storyline just seemed to be dropped. I didn’t feel like that plot was even REMOTELY concluded sufficiently. There was so much that needed to be addressed with Kurt and Finn but instead we just moved on to episodes like “Funk.”

    Don’t get me wrong, I love Glee and will be turning next season. I just wished we had had some actual resolution on that front (i.e. not Finn dressing up in a red shower curtain…even though it was funny).

  • Boycool  On June 22, 2010 at 8:21 AM

    Another week without posts? Come on, I pretty much live for this website.

Leave a Reply

