Fun Facts About WordPress


Alright, so this has less to do with the subject of my blog than it does about the blog itself, but I think it is entertaining enough that I ought to share.

Among the features WordPress offers to its bloggers is the opportunity to see what search terms caused readers to reach a blog. This is how I know, for instance, that Glee-related posts are most popular not only because the most people click on the links I leave on Facebook and SideReel, but because “glee” is probably the most used TV-related search term for the past year.* It is also how I know that the surge in popularity for one of my personal favorite posts to date, “Hindsight: Life” is connected to a similar surge in Life-related search terms – one of the most common of those is actually “hindsight life,” which makes me feel kind of special (even though I know it probably isn’t really peopleĀ  searching for my post/blog specifically).

Anyway.

The reason I am sharing this information with all of you is because today (and it is not even 8am my time) we have two new additions to my list of my favorite search terms that have led people to Melted Brain. A list I would like to share with you now.

In no particular order:

  1. “why did jim longworth get shot in the ass” (today)
  2. “ryan/esposito slash” (today)
  3. “bsg octagonal paper”
  4. “shakira tights not pants”

There have been many even more hilarious ones over the past year. Most of which are now lost to the ether (read: WordPress’ records don’t go back that far and/or I just can’t find them). I think one of the better ones involved Thomas Jefferson. BUT NOW I KNOW that I need to keep an active list. And so here is the beginning of it.

I love the internet.

* Not a researched proven fact. But I’ll bet you twenty bucks.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lena  On September 23, 2010 at 3:14 PM

    It took me more than a season to realize that Ryan and Esposito were meant to be, which given my extreme shipper-nature, is absolutely astounding.

    I LOVE THAT PICTURE. YESYESYESYES.

Leave a Reply

